News and Opinion from Sisters, Oregon

SMS hosts XC meet

With high school runners in bright pink shorts acting as “rabbits,” middle school runners from around Central Oregon raced around the grounds of Sisters Middle School in the final meet ahead of next week’s district championships.

The meet got off to a strong start for Sisters as Outlaws took the top two spots in the girls race. Taylin Bowen won the race convincingly in a time of 10:16 over the 2,850-meter course. Brooke Duey edged Colby Thompson of Crook County by just over a second for the runner-up spot in 13:13. Teagen Welsh helped the Outlaws win the team competition by placing seventh overall in 13:52.

Bowen’s time turned out to be the fastest of the day for runners in both the girls and boys divisions.

The middle school cross-country league rules allow for just the top three runners to count in the scoring as opposed to five, giving Sisters the win with just 10 points. Crook County placed second with 17, followed by La Pine with 18 and St. Francis with 48.

For the boys sixth-graders, Daniel Miller (12:28) and Hudson Hayes (12:42) placed ninth and 10th respectively. Cash Jordan rounded out the scoring for the Outlaws, finishing 15th among 27 finishers.

Jace Jonas of Crook County won the race in a time of 11:30.2.

The Outlaws finished fourth in the team race with 43 points. Pilot Butte tallied just 13 points for the win, followed by La Pine (19) and Crook County (24).

Seventh-grader Kiara Martin (13:51) was the lone finisher for Sisters, leaving the Outlaws without a team score. Pati Carne of Crook County won the race in 11:37, leading the Cowgirls to the team crown with 11 points. Pilot Butte finished second (15), St. Francis third (29) and La Pine (46).

Conrad Irlam placed 12th overall — and first for the Outlaws — with a time of 11:49, among 51 finishers. Bryant Leaver was not far behind in 12:04, and a trio of Outlaws including John Berg, Spencer Tisdel, and Phillip Komar came through tightly packed all timed in 12:36.

Aiden Nelson of La Pine won the race in 10:17.

Pilot Butte captured the team title with 13 points, followed by La Pine (19), Crook County (24), Sisters (43) and Cascades Academy of Central Oregon (61).

Sisters Athletic Director Gary Thorson and Track Coach Jeff Larson, along with the entire team and coaches of Sisters High School cross-country put on the


“Our kids love taking the day from practice to help make this meet run smoothly and have some fun,” said Head Coach Josh Nordell.


Reader Comments(0)