News and Opinion from Sisters, Oregon

Volunteers named to city committees

Large numbers of local volunteers will help guide Sisters into the future.

A record number of volunteers turned out in November to fill positions on City boards and commissions, with terms beginning on January 1, 2021. The interested residents all filled out City applications and participated in Zoom interviews with several City councilors and City staff before the final selections were made.

Council President Nancy Connolly told The Nugget, “I believe the people we selected are a fair representation of the community.” She indicated that the large number of applicants was a validation for the council and staff for being open and inclusive.

At the December 9 City Council meeting, Mayor Chuck Ryan formally appointed the following people to committees and boards:

• Planning Commission: Jeff Seymour, Scot Davidson, and Tom Reis for four-year terms.

• Public Works Advisory Board: Dave Moyer, Robert Hatfield, John Herman, Bill Kelly, and Jenn Rambo. Term lengths will be determined at the first meeting.

• City Parks Advisory Board: Dixie Eckford and Sarah McDougall to one-year terms; Eli Madrone for three-year term.

• Urban Forestry Board: John Myers, three-year term.

• Budget Committee: Susan Cobb, Briana Metzler, and Robin Smith to three-year terms. One position still open.

Going forward, new board members will be appointed every year in January and members whose terms are expiring will go off the board as of December 31. All new appointees will receive training for their positions in board protocols, City requirements, and particular expectations for each board.


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/11/2024 18:43